#### GIRLS BASKETBALL

Girls basketball had six classes in 2007-08. Each class qualified eight teams for the Girls State Basketball Tournament, which was held February 28, 29, and March 1, 2008 in Lincoln.

Class A was divided into seven districts with the district champions and one wild-card team, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Millard North was the wild-card team for Class A. Class B was divided into six districts with the district champions and two wild-card teams, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Elkhorn and Lincoln Pius X were the Class B wild-card teams. Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 were divided into twelve sub-districts and six districts. The winners of the district finals in each class advanced to the state tournament. The two non-district champions with the highest wild-card average received invitations to the state tournament. The Class C1 wild-card qualifiers were Fairbury and Kearney Catholic. Elmwood-Murdock and Grand Island Central Catholic were the C2 wild cards. In D1, Humphrey and Humphrey St. Francis received the wild cards. Ewing and Sioux County were the D2 wild-card winners. The NSAA also implemented third-place games, pairing the two teams losing in the semifinal round. Paid attendance: 55,972.

#### 2008 State Championship Results

Class A First Round Millard West 59, Omaha Marian 49 Kearney 61, Omaha Westside 57 OT Lincoln Southeast 59, Papillion-La Vista 41 Millard North 43, Bellevue East 39 Semifinals Millard West 45, Kearney 28 Lincoln Southeast 66, Millard North 41 Third Place Millard North (21-5) 46, Kearney (22-5) 43 Final Lincoln Southeast (26-1) 60, Millard West (24-2) 44

### **Class B**

First Round South Sioux City 65, Gretna 55 OT Elkhorn 41, Seward 36 Alliance 45, Beatrice 38 Lincoln Pius X 58, Holdrege 53 Semifinals South Sioux City 61, Elkhorn 43 Alliance 39, Lincoln Pius X 29 Third Place Lincoln Pius X (18-4) 66, Elkhorn (21-4) 54 Final South Sioux City (24-1) 53, Alliance (25-1) 48

### Class C1

First Round Crofton 61, Fairbury 46 Bishop Neumann 70, Milford 56 Norfolk Catholic 62, Kearney Catholic 34 Minden 40, Hershey 31 Semifinals Bishop Neumann 43, Crofton 38 Norfolk Catholic 54, Minden 25 Third Place Crofton (24-2) 65, Minden (21-4) 43 Final Norfolk Catholic (24-1) 52, Bishop Neumann (22-3) 50

### **First Round**

Perkins County 69, Elkhorn Valley 60 West Point Central Catholic 69, East Butler 67 Cambridge 56, Grand Island Central Catholic 40 Sutton 59, Elmwood-Murdock 54 **Semifinals** Perkins County 73, West Point Central Catholic 64 Sutton 51, Cambridge 40 **Third Place** West Point Central Catholic (22-4) 59, Cambridge (23-2) 50 **Final** Perkins County (24-0) 62, Sutton (23-2) 49

### Class D1

## **First Round**

Pope John 64, Hay Springs 46 Humphrey 53, Meridian 45 Bancroft-Rosalie 55, Lawrence-Nelson 47 Arapahoe 58, Humphrey St. Francis 48 **Semifinals** Pope John 55, Humphrey 42 Bancroft-Rosalie 75, Arapahoe 36 **Third Place** Humphrey (21-4) 50, Arapahoe (20-8) 49 OT **Final** Bancroft-Rosalie (27-0) 68, Pope John (25-3) 35

## Class D2

### **First Round**

Falls City Sacred Heart 57, Coleridge 44 Ewing 50, North Loup-Scotia 34 Pleasanton 45, Sioux County 41 Chambers 56, Mullen 30 **Semifinals** Ewing 57, Falls City Sacred Heart 51 Pleasanton 52, Chambers 51 **Third Place** Falls City Sacred Heart (25-2) 57, Chambers (23-4) 49 OT **Final** Ewing (23-3) 45, Pleasanton (24-2) 44

### **Championship Coaches**

Class A – John Larsen, Lincoln Southeast Class B – Kelly Flynn, South Sioux City Class C1 – Tim Kassmeier, Norfolk Catholic Class C2 – Chris Mestl, Perkins County Class D1 – Trudy Samuelson, Bancroft-Rosalie Class D2 – Brock Eichelberger, Ewing

### **BOYS BASKETBALL**

Boys basketball had six classes in 2007-08. Each class qualified eight teams for the Boys State Basketball Tournament held on March 6, 7, and 8, 2008, in Lincoln.

Class A was divided into seven districts with the district champions and one wild-card team, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Omaha Creighton Prep was the wild-card team for Class A. Class B was divided into six districts with the district champions and two wild-card teams, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Gretna and Lincoln Pius X were the Class B wild-card teams. For the fifth year in NSAA history, Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 also had two wild-card qualifiers. Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 were divided into twelve sub-districts and six districts. The winners of the district finals in each class advanced to the state tournament. The two non-district champions with the highest wild-card average received invitations to the state tournament. The Class C1 wild-card qualifiers were Minden and Wisner-Pilger. Grand Island Central Catholic and Heartland were the C2 wild cards. In D1, Mead and Palmer received the wild cards. Bruning-Davenport and Hampton were the D2 wild-card winners. The NSAA also implemented third-place games, pairing the two teams losing in the semifinal round. Paid attendance: 95,483.

#### 2008 State Championship Results

# Class A

First Round Bellevue East 60, Ralston 56 Lincoln High 63, Omaha Creighton Prep 57 Bellevue West 74, Omaha Benson 54 Omaha Central 56, Kearney 43 Semifinals Bellevue East 57, Lincoln High 45 Omaha Central 80, Bellevue West 66 Third Place Bellevue West (25-3) 78, Lincoln High (20-6) 77 Final Omaha Central (27-3) 59, Bellevue East (20-10) 58

## Class B

First Round Elkhorn 44, Omaha Skutt Catholic 42 Lincoln Pius X 52, Alliance 49 Beatrice 48, York 40 Gretna 44, McCook 43 OT Semifinals Elkhorn 50, Lincoln Pius X 38 Beatrice 40, Gretna 37 Third Place Gretna (19-7) 52, Lincoln Pius X (16-8) 47 Final Beatrice (23-3) 39, Elkhorn (19-7) 36

#### Class C1

First Round Pierce 49, Boys Town 40 Hastings St. Cecilia 58, Minden 44 Chadron 50, Lincoln Lutheran 36 Bennington 69, Wisner-Pilger 62 Semifinals Hastings St. Cecilia 46, Pierce 36 Bennington 55, Chadron 44 Third Place Pierce (25-1) 49, Chadron (22-4) 44 Final Hastings St. Cecilia (25-2) 50, Bennington (27-1) 43

#### Class C2

**First Round** Ravenna 69, Perkins County 57 Grand Island Central Catholic 43, Deshler 32 Ponca 55, Oakland-Craig 41 Elmwood-Murdock 45, Heartland 41

### Semifinals

Grand Island Central Catholic 49, Ravenna 48 Elmwood-Murdock 58, Ponca 48 OT **Third Place** Ravenna (25-2) 65, Ponca (22-4) 55 **Final** Elmwood-Murdock (25-3) 59, Grand Island Central Catholic (19-8) 48

# Class D1

First Round Archbishop Bergan 79, Kenesaw 47 Mead 56, Palmer 46 Hayes Center 90, Callaway 54 Humphrey St. Francis 40, West Boyd 28 Semifinals Archbishop Bergan 51, Mead 39 Humphrey St. Francis 65, Hayes Center 57 OT Third Place Hayes Center (24-2) 61, Mead (20-5) 46 Final Archbishop Bergan (29-0) 56, Humphrey St. Francis (25-3) 43

### Class D2

First Round Falls City Sacred Heart 73, Potter-Dix 36 St. Mary's 48, Ewing 46 Pleasanton 62, St. Edward 48 Hampton 45, Bruning-Davenport 44 Semifinals Falls City Sacred Heart 54, St. Mary's 53 Pleasanton 62, Hampton 56 Third Place Hampton (21-5) 58, St. Mary's (21-5) 35 Final Falls City Sacred Heart (28-2) 66, Pleasanton (26-2) 54

### **Championship Coaches**

Class A – Eric Behrens, Omaha Central Class B – Jim Weeks, Beatrice Class C1 – Rob Kober, Hastings St. Cecilia Class C2 – Terry Warner, Elmwood-Murdock Class D1 – Chris Paulson, Archbishop Bergan Class D2 – Doug Goltz, Falls City Sacred Heart