#### GIRLS BASKETBALL

Girls basketball had six classes in 2010-11. Each class qualified eight teams for the NSAA Girls State Basketball Championships, which were held March 3, 4, and 5, 2011 in Lincoln.

Class A was divided into seven districts with the district champions and one wild-card team, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Millard West was the wild-card team for Class A. Class B was divided into six districts with the district champions and two wild-card teams, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Beatrice and Holdrege were the Class B wild-card teams.

Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 were divided into twelve sub-districts and six districts. The winners of the district finals in each class advanced to the state championships. The two non-district champions with the highest wild-card average received invitations to the state tournament. The Class C1 wild-card qualifiers were Minden and Sandy Creek. Homer and Hartington Cedar Catholic were the C2 wild cards. In D1, Howells and Pender received the wild cards. Elkhorn Valley and Lawrence-Nelson were the D2 wild-card winners.

For the fourth consecutive season, the NSAA played third-place games, pairing the two teams losing in the semifinal round. Paid attendance: 51,405.

# **NSAA Girls State Basketball Championship Results**

#### Class A

#### First Round

Bellevue East 53, Papillion-La Vista 48 Millard West 45, Lincoln Southeast 32 Bellevue West 75, Papillion-La Vista South 58 Omaha Central 65, Columbus 32

#### Semifinals

Bellevue East 54, Millard West 43 Bellevue West 69, Omaha Central 63 **Third Place** 

Millard West 55, Omaha Central 50

# **Championship Final**

Bellevue East (28-1) 52, Bellevue West (25-3) 49

### Class B

#### First Round

Seward 61. Omaha Skutt Catholic 42 Beatrice 65, Scottsbluff 42 Elkhorn 46, Norris 43 OT Holdrege 52, Lexington 51 **Semifinals** 

Seward 48, Beatrice 34 Elkhorn 46, Holdrege 39

**Third Place** 

Holdrege 56, Beatrice 54

# **Championship Final**

Seward (25-0) 70, Elkhorn (22-2) 54

#### Class C1

# **First Round**

Wahoo 64, Norfolk Catholic 35 Minden 49, Gordon-Rushville 38 Sandy Creek 73, Centura 45 Hastings St. Cecilia 52, Ashland-Greenwood 36

# **Semifinals**

Wahoo 59, Minden 46

Hastings St. Cecilia 78, Sandy Creek 65

# **Third Place**

Sandy Creek 62, Minden 45

# **Championship Final**

Hastings St. Cecilia (22-4) 65, Wahoo (27-2) 61

#### Class C2

# **First Round**

Crofton 54, Lincoln Christian 48

Aquinas Catholic 53, Morrill 35

Hartington Cedar Catholic 49, Sutton 44

Homer 45, Lutheran High Northeast 43, OT

#### **Semifinals**

Crofton 49, Aquinas Catholic 36

Homer 41, Hartington Cedar Catholic 39

# **Third Place**

Hartington Cedar Catholic 55, Aquinas Catholic 50

# **Championship Final**

Homer (26-2) 49, Crofton (25-2) 45

#### Class D1

# **First Round**

CWC (Chamber/Wheeler Central) 40, Sutherland 24

Howells 42, Exeter-Milligan 39

West Point Central Catholic 74, Amherst 40

Pender 64, Newman Grove 53

#### **Semifinals**

Howells 40, CWC 24

Pender 58, West Point Central Catholic 51

# **Third Place**

West Point Central Catholic 67, CWC 60

# **Championship Final**

Howells (22-4) 46, Pender (21-7) 36

# Class D2

# **First Round**

Lindsay Holy Family 40, Mead 20

Wynot 51, Ansley 28

Brady 40, Lawrence-Nelson 34

Hay Springs 59, Elkhorn Valley 49

# **Semifinals**

Wynot 5, Lindsay Holy Family 44

Hay Springs 45, Brady 40

# **Third Place**

Lindsay Holy Family 53, Brady 39

# **Championship Final**

Wynot (25-2) 45, Hay Springs (22-5) 33

# **Championship Coaches**

Class A – Scott Jensen, Bellevue East

Class B – Tom Tvrdy, Seward

Class C1 – Jahn Kile, Hastings St. Cecilia

Class C2 – Merlyn Tremayne, Homer

Class D1 – Scott Polacek, Howells

#### BOYS BASKETBALL

Boys basketball had six classes in 2010-11. Each class qualified eight teams for the NSAA Boys State Basketball Championships held on March 10, 11, and 12, 2011, in Lincoln.

Class A was divided into seven districts with the district champions and one wild-card team, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Millard North was the wild-card team for Class A. Class B was divided into six districts with the district champions and two wild-card teams, selected on the basis of a point system, qualifying for the state tournament. Gretna and Norris were the Class B wild-card teams.

For the eighth year in NSAA history, Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 also had two wild-card qualifiers. Classes C1, C2, D1 and D2 were divided into twelve sub-districts and six districts. The winners of the district finals in each class advanced to the state tournament. The two non-district champions with the highest wild-card average received invitations to the state tournament. The Class C1 wild-card qualifiers were Grand Island Central Catholic and Norfolk Catholic. Lincoln Christian and Arapahoe were the C2 wild cards. In D1, Howells and Pawnee City received the wild cards. Giltner and St. Mary's were the D2 wild-card winners.

For the third consecutive season, the NSAA played third-place games, pairing the two teams losing in the semifinal round. Paid attendance: 93,701.

# **2011 State Championship Results**

#### Class A

#### First Round

Omaha Bryan 46, Omaha South 39 Creighton Preparatory 47, Millard North 34 Omaha Central 69, Lincoln North Star 34 Norfolk 66, Omaha Benson 65 OT

# **Semifinals**

Omaha Bryan 58, Creighton Preparatory 57 OT Omaha Central 70, Norfolk 59

# Third Place

Norfolk 76, Creighton Preparatory 59

# **Championship Final**

Omaha Central (26-3) 52, Omaha Bryan (25-5) 48

# Class B

# **First Round**

South Sioux City 63, Holdrege 33 Lincoln Pius X 67, Scottsbluff 43 Gretna 54, Beatrice 39 Norris 67, Boys Town 55

# **Semifinals**

South Sioux City 50, Lincoln Pius X 47 Gretna 68, Norris 41

### Third Place

Lincoln Pius X 72, Norris 63

#### **Championship Final**

South Sioux City (24-2) 69, Gretna (25-3) 56

#### Class C1

### **First Round**

Grand Island Central Catholic 58, Wayne 48 Minden 56, Bishop Neumann 50 Milford 57, Kimball 51

Norfolk Catholic 62, Hastings St. Cecilia 43

# **Semifinals**

Minden 70, Grand island Central Catholic 66 OT

Norfolk Catholic 55, Milford 51

#### **Third Place**

Milford 63, Grand Island Central Catholic 54

# **Championship Final**

Norfolk Catholic (26-2) 56, Minden (23-2) 45

#### Class C2

#### First Round

Ravenna 55, Hartington Cedar Catholic 44

Lincoln Christian 48, Sutton 38

Archbishop Bergan 54, Johnson-Brock 51

North Platte St. Patrick's 63, Arapahoe 57 OT

#### Semifinals

Lincoln Christian 60, Ravenna 46

Archbishop Bergan 46, North Platte St. Patrick's 36

# **Third Place**

Ravenna 77, North Platte St. Patrick's 62

# **Championship Final**

Lincoln Christian (20-8) 46, Archbishop Bergan (22-6) 43

#### Class D1

#### First Round

West Point Central Catholic 59, Cedar Valley 42

BDS (Bruning-Davenport/Shickley) 70, Overton 61

Howells 77, Sandhills/Thedford 33

Pawnee City 66, Randolph 37

### **Semifinals**

West Point Central Catholic 50, BDS 42

Howells 54, Pawnee City 37

# **Third Place**

Pawnee City 31, BDS 29

#### **Championship Final**

West Point Central Catholic (21-8) 73, Howells (24-2) 63

#### Class D2

#### **First Round**

Sterling 61, Mullen 39

Wauneta-Palisade 63, St. Mary's 54

Giltner 44, Lindsay Holy Family 24

Wynot 52, Pleasanton 47

# Semifinals

Wauneta-Palisade 60, Sterling 46

Giltner 51, Wynot 45

# **Third Place**

Sterling 59, Wynot 56

# **Championship Final**

Giltner (25-2) 57, Wauneta-Palisade (26-2) 54

# **Championship Coaches**

Class A – Eric Behrens, Omaha Central

Class B – Terry Comstock, South Sioux City

Class C1 – Shane Anderson, Norfolk Catholic

Class C2 – Monte Jones, Lincoln Christian Class D1 – Derek Ippensen, West Point Central Catholic Class D2 – Matt Drew, Giltner