## NEBRASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC and NON-PUBLIC COMPETITION

Minutes of October 19, 2016

The Committee on Public and Non-Public Competition met on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 2:00 p.m. at the NSAA office in Lincoln. Dr. Bob Reznicek, NSAA District II Board of Directors member, chaired the meeting. The purpose of the committee was to discuss two success factor proposals and determine if a proposal would be submitted by the committee members in each of their respective districts.

Committee members present were Tim Aylward, Lincoln Pius X; Ryan Ruhl, Norris; Dr. Bob Reznicek, Boys Town; Greg Lamberty, Bennington; Mike Lenihan, Wayne; Mark Skillstad, North Platte St. Pat's; Jason Alexander, Ord; Dr. Dennis Shipp, Bertrand; Robert Drews, Holdrege; Glen Koski, Gering; Tammy Tillman, Bayard. NSAA Staff present were Dr. Jim Tenopir, Jennifer Schwartz, Jon Dolliver, Nate Neuhaus, Dan Masters, and Jeff Stauss.

Two proposals were submitted for discussion. It was determined by the committee to submit a proposal to the membership that would place schools in one classification above the classification dictated by their three-grade enrollment in a particular sport if the member school attained a designated level of success during the previous four seasons of that sport, as measured by success points. Once a school accumulates 10 or more success points, adjustments would then be made based on the following criteria: (1) If the school was located within a 15-mile radius of a school with 900 or more students in its three-grade count; (2) If fewer than 15% or more than 40% of the students enrolled at the school in grades nine through twelve qualify for free or reduced price lunches; and, (3) If fewer than 10% or more than 30% of the students enrolled in grades nine through twelve receive special education services as reported by the Nebraska Department of Education. It was also determined by the committee to begin accumulating success points in the 2017-18 school year, with the first year a school could move up one classification to be the 2021-22 school year.

With no further business, the committee	e adjourned at 3:42 p.m.
	<u> </u>
Jennifer Schwartz, Assistant Director	