NEBRASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE ON SUMMER BYLAW REVIEW

Minutes of May 5, 2021 meeting

The Committee on Summer Bylaw Review met on Wednesday, May 5, 2021 via Zoom. The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. CST by Kathi Wieskamp, NSAA District 1 Board of Director, who chaired the meeting.

Committee members present were Pat Gatzemeyer, Lincoln High AD; Andy Wane, Omaha Westside AP; Mark Fritch, Nebraska City Superintendent; Mike Sanne, Summerland-Clearwater Principal; Scott Jorgenson, Paxton AD; Jordan Cudney, North Platte AD; Bob Drews, Holdrege Principal/NSAA District 5 Board of Director; Dustin Kronhofman, Arapahoe AD; Dave Hoxworth, Scottsbluff AD; Blake Dahlberg, Thedford Superintendent/Principal. Ex-officio members included NSAA Staff, Jay Bellar and Jennifer Schwartz. Brad Hoesing, Wausa Superintendent and Mark Lenihan, Wayne Superintendent were absent.

Gatzemeyer explained how the discussions about the NSAA Summer Bylaws began in the Class A Caucus and felt it would be beneficial to form a statewide committee to review these bylaws.

Current NSAA Summer Bylaws were reviewed in addition to the summer regulations of the other states in NFHS Section 5.

Committee members shared their perspectives, their questions, and their concerns regarding the NSAA Summer Bylaws.

It was decided that the committee focus on the following: (1) clarifying current bylaws; (2) prioritizing high school coach/player contact; (3) liability implications; and (4) providing opportunities for all kids.

The committee members were reminded to keep the member schools in their district informed of the work of this committee.

With no further business, the committee adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

The committee will meet again on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. CST.

Jennifer Schwartz, Associate Director