SOFTBALL

The 13th State Softball Tournament was held October 12, 13, and 14, 2005 at Seymour Smith Fields in Omaha. Directors were Jim Angele, NSAA, Dr. Peg Naylon, Omaha Public Schools; Bob Colgate, NSAA; and Bob Danenhauer, Omaha Public Schools.

Six district champions and two wild-card teams from each class qualified for the state tournament. The Class A wild-card teams were Papillion La Vista and Lincoln Northeast. The wild-card teams in Class B were Chadron and Elkhorn. The wild-card teams for the Class C tournament were Yutan/Mead and Milford. Paid attendance: 8,320.

2005 State Softball Tournament Results

Class A

First Round

Millard South 15, Lincoln Southeast 3 (4 inn.) Lincoln Northeast 4, Omaha Marian 2 Papillion-La Vista 9, Omaha Burke 4 Papillion-La Vista South 5, Norfolk 0

First Round Loser's Bracket

Omaha Marian 7, Lincoln Southeast 0 Omaha Burke 1, Norfolk 0

Second Round Winner's Bracket

Millard South 8, Lincoln Northeast 1 Papillion-La Vista 4, Papillion-La Vista South 2

Second Round Loser's Bracket

Papillion-La Vista South 4, Omaha Marian 1 (8 inn.) Omaha Burke 7, Lincoln Northeast 2

Semifinal Winner's Bracket

Millard South 1, Papillion-La Vista 0

Semifinal Loser's Bracket

Papillion-La Vista South 3, Omaha Burke 2 (10 inn.)

Final Loser's Bracket

Papillion-La Vista 7, Papillion-La Vista South 6 (9 inn.)

Championship Final

Millard South (32-4) 5, Papillion-La Vista (26-13) 0 Championship Coach: Steve Kerkman

Class B First Round

Beatrice 10, Lexington 1 Blair 5, Ralston 1 Seward 4, McCook 2 Elkhorn 8, Chadron 0

First Round Loser's Bracket

Lexington 3, Ralston 1 Chadron 2, McCook 1

Second Round Winner's Bracket

Beatrice 2, Blair 1 (9 inn.) Elkhorn 4, Seward 0

Second Round Loser's Bracket

Seward 5, Lexington 1 Blair 2, Chadron 1

Semifinal Winner's Bracket

Elkhorn 1, Beatrice 0 (10 inn.)

Semifinal Loser's Bracket

Seward 3, Blair 0

Final Loser's Bracket

Beatrice 3, Seward 0

Championship Final

Elkhorn (31-4) 1, Beatrice (30-4) 0 Championship Coach: Terry Graver

Class C

First Round

Ashland-Greenwood 3, Cozad 0 Logan View 3, Wayne 0 Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan 1, Yutan/Mead 0 Columbus Lakeview 12, Milford 2

First Round Loser's Bracket

Cozad 3, Wayne 2 Milford 5, Yutan/Mead 2

Second Round Winner's Bracket

Logan View 2, Ashland-Greenwood 1 Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan 3, Columbus Lakeview 0

Second Round Loser's Bracket

Columbus Lakeview 8, Cozad 3 Ashland-Greenwood 8, Milford 2

Semifinal Winner's Bracket

Logan View 1, Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan 0

Semifinal Loser's Bracket

Columbus Lakeview 6, Ashland-Greenwood 2

Final Loser's Bracket

Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan 1, Columbus Lakeview 0 (9 inn.)

Championship Final

Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan 2, Logan View 1 Fillmore Central/Exeter-Milligan (34-1) 1, Logan View (28-8) 0 Championship Coach: Steve Adkisson