Nebraska School Activities Association

NSAA Student Advisory Committee Members Selected

The Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA) is pleased to announce the individuals selected to the NSAA Student Advisory Committee for the 2023-24 and 2024-25 school years.  These new members will join the 10 seniors serving their second term:

Ainsworth – Emma Kennedy
Bertrand – Emma Brown
Burwell – Calah Archibeque
Fairbury – Karelin Deras-Hernandez
Malcolm – Tristen Boehle
Lexington – Christian Burton
Mount Michael Benedictine – John Mohs
Norfolk – Jay Koozer
Omaha South – Charlotte Gregor
South Platte – Cordell Frerichs

Out of many outstanding applicants, ten were selected to serve for their junior and senior years.  These students were selected from the Nebraska’s six NSAA districts.  The selection process was extremely competitive and focused on recommendations by school personnel, participation in various interscholastic activities and athletics as well as gender, school classification, and minority representation.

The Student Advisory Committee helps to promote the mission of the NSAA, encompassing leadership, sportsmanship, and integrity.  The focus is on providing education and leadership through open and honest communication with all member schools and their students, administrators and coaches.  All recipients were nominated by their Activities Director.

Duties and responsibilities are:  discuss current student and Association issues; assist with various Association functions; help to maintain an avenue of communication between the Association and the student participants themselves; create and implement initiatives within schools, communities and/or school conferences.

Additional responsibilities include:

  • Students provide input, help to develop, and attend the sportsmanship and leadership summits in conjunction with the Nebraska Coaches Association.
  • Students record public service announcements (PSAs), through our media partner STRIV.TV.

Congratulations to the new members of the Student Advisory Committee!!